Distractable Me

ImageIf I’m being honest with you, I have to admit that I felt like I was living out the story of Martha this week.  I felt as though there were so many distractions crowding my mind that I couldn’t really hone in and hear the Lord. My life, my schedule, my job, my friends (although I love them dearly), even my daily Bible Study, even though I was faithful to do it every day this past week, I felt all of it was getting in the way of actually sitting down and listening to God. I couldn’t hear Him. I couldn’t hear His heart.

Luke 10:39-40 says, “And she had a sister called, Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. But Martha was distracted...”. Can you believe it! Jesus is sitting in Martha’s living room!!! Every one else is in there listening to His word, His heart – except for Martha…because she is too distracted! My first thought is to go to Martha and be like “Are you crazy?!?  JESUS is sitting in your living room!!!! Are you telling me that you are going to sit and brood in your kitchen and miss the experience of sitting face to face with Jesus and hearing His heart?!?

But if I’m honest with myself, how many times do I let things distract me from sitting at His feet and listening to His heart? ImageToo often. Because I am “worried and troubled about many things” (Luke 10:41). I want to plan everything out. Have everything perfect. Do it in my own way. All of this causes me to become troubled and worried…meanwhile I am obsessing over something and I am missing God’s heart! God looks at Martha and says, “One thing is needed”. We are stressed about so many things…but really only one thing is needed…and that is taking the time to push away the distractions and hear His heart.

Leave a Reply

